Vinyl Moon

Vinyl Moon

Mahogany L. Browne

Pub: January 25, 2022

Crown Books for Young Readers

Pre-Order

A teen girl hiding the scars of a past relationship finds home and healing in the words of strong Black writers. A great companion for readers of Nic Stone, Liz Acevedo, and Renee Watson.
Angel is transplanted from her home in California to Brooklyn, leaving behind her mom and siblings. She’s escaping an abusive relationship that ended with Angel in the hospital and her boyfriend in jail.
At her new public school, Angel attends H.E.R. Leadership Advisory class and learns about the works of “revolutionary” Black writers like Toni Morrison, James Baldwin, Lorraine Hansberry for the first time. Through her classmates-turned-friends and inspired by these strong authors who speak to her experience, Angel might be able to heal from her past scars and build a new future.
Award-winning author Mahogany L. Browne delivers her first prose and poetry novel that delves into the love of literature, the heartbeat of Brooklyn, and the strength it takes to start again.