Archives

LaRose

After Landreaux Iron is involved in a devastating hunting mishap, he’s forced to settle the score in the only way he knows how. An emotionally powerful literary masterpiece about natural justice and a reparation of the heart, an act that has old roots in indigenous culture—by the author of the bestselling novel, The Round House, winner of the 2012 National Book Award for Fiction.

Girls on Fire

Set in the small-town early 1990s—the moment of volcanic teenage revolution presided over by the tortured prince Kurt Cobain—Girls on Fire stalks the treacherous territory between girlhood and adulthood, through the story of two love triangles gone violently wrong. In the tradition of The Virgin Suicides and Heathers, Girls on Fire is both a thriller and a portrait of the intoxication of girlhood and female friendship—an unflinching and unforgettable portrait of good girls, bad girls, lost and found girls, strong and weak girls, girls who burn bright and brighter, and some who flicker away: girls on fire.

The Summer Guest

From the translator of The Elegance Of The Hedgehog comes a sophisticated, atmospheric novel, evocative of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, in which the fates of three remarkable women—and legendary Russian writer Anton Chekhov—become entwined across two centuries because of a recently-discovered diary. Inspired by the real friendship between Chekhov and the Lintvaryov family, landowners in the Ukraine, The Summer Guest is a masterful narrative that recreates a vanished world.

The Decent Proposal

A humorous, heartfelt romantic comedy built on a tantalizing premise: would you agree to spend two hours a week with a stranger—just talking—to collect half a million dollars after a year? That’s the deal offered Los Angeles millennials Richard and Elizabeth by an anonymous benefactor, and though mysterious, it seems harmless enough at the start. This sharp-witted debut novel is a charming and often unpredictable story about romance and friendship in contemporary urban America.

Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head

Blessed with extraordinary abilities, orphans Philippa, Sam, and Thomas have grown up in Dumfrey’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders for as long as they can remember. Philippa is a powerful mentalist, Sam is the world’s strongest boy, and Thomas can squeeze himself into a space no bigger than a breadbox. The children live happily with museum owner Mr. Dumfrey, alongside other misfits and freaks. But when a fourth child, Mackenzie (Max), a knife-thrower with deadly accuracy, joins the group, it sets off an unforgettable chain of events.

When the museum’s most prized possession, an Amazonian shrunken head, is stolen, the four are determined to get it back. But their search leads them to a series of murders and an explosive secret about their pasts.

This sensational new series combines the unparalleled storytelling gifts of Lauren Oliver with the rich knowledge of the notorious relics collector H.C. Chester.

The Keepers

Book one in a four book middle grade fantasy series about Horace F. Andrews, a quiet boy who discovers he possesses a power that can change worlds, with his friend Chloe, who can walk through walls with the help of a dragonfly pendant. The duo becomes entangled in a secret and ancient war with life as they know it is at stake.

Ferals

For years, Caw has lived on the streets of Blackstone City with only three crows for company. Caw has never known why he can understand the crows. But when he rescues a girl named Lydia from a vicious attack, he discovers others like him: ferals who can speak to certain animals. And some of them are dangerous. Now, the most sinister feral of all—the Spinning Man—is on the move again. To save his city, Caw must quickly master abilities he never knew he had… and prepare to defeat a darkness he never could have imagined.

Magonia

An epic fantasy following one girl from the familiar confines of her high school life on Earth to the heights of a fantastical sky world where she discovers she possesses immense power and must choose between destroying or saving the world she left behind

Kissing in America

In the years following her father’s death, 16-year-old Eva has sought the comfort of poetry and romance novels to assuage her grief. The she meets Will, and through their connection, Eva is able to escape the pain of her dad’s death and her difficult relationship with her mom. But then Will suddenly picks up and moves to California—and just like that, Eva is right back where she started. With the help of her best friend, Annie, Eva concocts a plan to leave New York City for the first time in her life and travel across the country to see Will. From cowboys to kudzu, and the endless roads in between, Eva and Annie learn the truth about love and all of its complexities.

Second Life

S. J. Watson, author of the New York Times and international bestseller Before I Go to Sleep—now a major motion picture starring Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth—returns with a riveting psychological thriller, in which a woman plunges into the dangerous world of online sex to find the truth about the life, and death, of her sister.