Archives

Bats of the Republic

In 1843, Zadock Thomas must leave his home to deliver a secret letter to a general on the front lines of the war over Texas. When a cloud of bats leads him off the trail, he happens on something quite extraordinary. This highly inventive novel-within-a novel features hand drawn maps, illustrations, subversive pamphlets, and curious diagrams—an intrigue wrapped inside an innovative design.

Made To Kill

August 10, 1965: Raymond Electricomatic, of the Electromatic Detective Agency, is good at his job—as good as he ever was at being a true Private Investigator. Being a hit man suits him just fine, in fact, as does being the world’s last robot, and the lone employee of a defunct agency—except for Ada, the best super-computer Gal Friday a robot could hope to have (even if she is of dubious moral intent). Ray was programmed to make a profit, after all, and with his twenty-four-hour memory-tape limits, he sure can keep a secret.

When a familiar-looking woman arrives at the agency wanting to hire Ray to find a missing movie star, he’s inclined to tell her to take a hike. But she had the cold hard cash, a demand for total anonymity, and tendency to vanish on her own. She’s asking for results, and fast—but she might not like what comes next. Raymondo Electric is on the job, once again.

Bream Gives Me Hiccups

Bream Gives Me Hiccups: And Other Stories is the remarkable fiction debut by Academy Award-nominated actor Jesse Eisenberg, famous for his roles in The Social Network and other films, but also for his regular pieces in the New Yorker and his two critically acclaimed plays. This collection of hilarious, moving, and highly inventive stories explore the ridiculousness of modern-day life, in the tradition of Woody Allen, Simon Rich, and David Sedaris. Taking its title from a group of stories that begin the book, Bream Gives Me Hiccups moves from contemporary L.A. to the dorm rooms of an American college to ancient Pompeii, throwing the reader into a universe of social misfits, reimagined scenes from history, and ridiculous overreactions. In one piece, a tense email exchange between a young man and his girlfriend is taken over by his sister, who is obsessed with the Bosnian genocide (The situation reminds me of a little historical blip called the Karađorđevo agreement); in another, a college freshman forced to live with a roommate is stunned when one of her ramen packets goes missing (she didn’t have “one” of my ramens. She had a chicken ramen); in another piece, Alexander Graham Bell has teething problems with his invention (I’ve been calling Mabel all day, she doesn’t pick up! Yes, of course I dialed the right number – 2!).United by Eisenberg’s gift for humor and character, and grouped into chapters that each open with an illustration by award-winning cartoonist Jean Jullien, the witty pieces collected in Bream Gives Me Hiccups explore the various insanities of the modern world, and mark the arrival of a fantastically funny, self-ironic, and original voice.

Don’t Let My Baby Do Rodeo

Building on the critical success of A Replacement Life, Boris Fishman’s second novel—which follows a couple who travel to Montana to find their adopted son’s biological parents and the source of his unusually wild behavior—demonstrates the full range of his phenomenal talent and has the potential to be both a literary masterpiece and a huge commercial hit.

Years after their whirlwind romance and marriage, Russian immigrants Alex and Maya Rubin have thrown themselves into the quiet, calm life of suburban New Jersey. Both have tried to distance themselves from their foreign roots and settle into the mold of prototypical Americans. And their young adopted son, Max, is as American as they come—the vigorous blond offspring of two teenagers from Montana. But Max begins to act out in inscrutable, wild ways. He has always been a bit of a mystery to Alex and Maya, ever since his biological mother dropped him off at their house eight years earlier, insisting “Don’t let my baby do rodeo.” As Max’s actions become increasingly alarming, the woman’s words haunt Maya—what did she mean? Maya convinces Alex to embark on a cross-country road trip to Montana with Max, hoping to track down Max’s biological parents and solve the puzzle that is their son. But the wild, undulating landscapes unleash something within Maya. She once used to be a force of nature herself, a wild girl who chased her dreams with a single-minded ferocity. But two decades of marriage have refashioned her into simply a wife, a daughter-in-law, and a mother. The trip to Montana—and what they find there—force Maya to wrestle with her choices, with seismic consequences for her family.

A Line of Blood

In one of the most entertaining and twisty thrillers of the year a London family, a mother, father and young son, must deal with the murder of their secretive next door neighbor and the intrusive police investigation that follows. Readers will be faced with ever shifting and increasingly frightening suspicions that one or all of them had something to do with it.

Captain in Calico

George MacDonald Fraser was famed for his legendary Flashman series, featuring the incorrigible knave Harry Flashman, a soldier in the British imperial army. In the colorful standalone novel Captain in Calico, which has never been published, Fraser introduces another real-life anti-hero: Captain John Rackham, called “Calico Jack,” an illustrious eighteenth-century pirate who marauded the Caribbean seas. On a tranquil evening in the Bahamas, Calico Jack, long wanted on counts of piracy, makes a surprise appearance at the Governor’s residence and asks for a pardon. A deal is brokered after Jack reveals the motive for turning himself in: love. When he last set sail from the Bahamas two years ago, Jack left behind a beautiful fiancée, and he hopes to win her back. But while Jack was off pirating, his beloved has become betrothed to a new man—the governor himself. It doesn’t take long for this truth to come to light, and after embarking on a new romance with famous Irish pirate Anne Bonney, Jack is quickly transformed back into a thieving captain in calico. With his trademark picaresque style, Fraser draws readers into the wild west of the British empire, where black sails prowl the waters and redemption can be found in the most unexpected places.

Girl Waits with Gun

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Drunken Botanist comes an enthralling novel based on the forgotten true story of one of the nation’s first female deputy sheriffs.

Fates and Furies

At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed. With stunning revelations and multiple threads, and in prose that is vibrantly alive and original, Groff delivers a deeply satisfying novel about love, art, creativity, and power that is unlike anything that has come before it. Profound, surprising, propulsive, and emotionally riveting, it stirs both the mind and the heart.

The Forgetting Time

Noah wants to go home. A seemingly easy request from most four-year-olds. But as Noah’s single-mother, Janie, knows, nothing with Noah is ever easy. One day the pre-school office calls and says Janie needs to come in to talk about Noah, and no, not later, now—and life as she knows it stops. For Jerome Anderson, life as he knows it has stopped. A deadly diagnosis has made him realize he is approaching the end of his life. His first thought—I’m not finished yet. Once a shining young star in academia, a graduate of Yale and Harvard, a professor of psychiatry, he threw it all away because of an obsession. Anderson lost the respect of his peers, but he didn’t care—something had to be going on beyond what anyone could see or comprehend. He spent his life searching for that something else. And with Noah, he thinks he’s found it.

Soon Noah, Janie and Anderson will find themselves knocking on the door of a mother whose son has been missing for eight years—and when that door opens, all of their questions will be answered.

Sharon Guskin has written a captivating, thought-provoking novel that explores what we regret in the end of our lives and hope for in the beginning, and everything in between. In equal parts a mystery and a testament to the profound connection between a child and parent, The Forgetting Time marks the debut of a major new talent.

The Marriage of Opposites

Growing up on idyllic St. Thomas in the early 1800s, Rachel dreams of life in faraway Paris. Rachel’s mother, a pillar of their small refugee community of Jews who escaped the Inquisition, has never forgiven her daughter for being a difficult girl who refuses to live by the rules. Growing up, Rachel’s salvation is their maid Adelle’s belief in her strengths, and her deep, life-long friendship with Jestine, Adelle’s daughter. But Rachel’s life is not her own. She is married off to a widower with three children to save her father’s business. When her husband dies suddenly and his handsome, much younger nephew, Frédérick, arrives from France to settle the estate, Rachel seizes her own life story, beginning a defiant, passionate love affair that sparks a scandal that affects all of her family, including her favorite son, who will become one of the greatest artists of France.